Swordswoman

This is a doodle gone wild, and I have to say I’m really really pleased with the results 😀

swordswoman

 

Originally, I was just experimenting with a pose I don’t normally use: in this case, the over-the-shoulder-look. Oddly, this came out better WITHOUT a reference than the one I aborted earlier in the night that DID use a reference.

I think she looks like a competent fighter without being too over the top. Anyone want to volunteer to come up with a cool backstory for her? I’m too tired at this point to come up with anything interesting.

 


Since I haven’t done one of these for a while, here’s a blow by blow for my fellow art nerds 😀

1.

swordswoman-sktch1

A very basic sketch of the pose with rough anatomy sketched in.

2.

swordswoman-sktch2

Add the rough outlines of where her clothes will fit It’s in pink so it’s easier to tell what lines go to what.

3.swordswoman-sktch3

Ink the lines over the sketch, taking care to make them as smooth and clean as possible. (Her staff didn’t quite cooperate, but I’m choosing not to worry about that)

4.

swordswoman-sktch4

Hide the sketch layers.

5.

swordswoman-sktch5

Flat colors with a little detailing in the eyes (because eyes are very important).

6.

swordswoman-sktch6

Select a gradient background. (The special effects are on the linework layer, but I added them after adding the gradient.)

7.

swordswoman-sktch7

Add highlights from her staff.

8.

swordswoman-sktch8

Add shadows everywhere the light doesn’t fall, darker the further you get from the top of the staff (aka, our lightsource).

9.

The shading layers look like this, without the color or background.

swordswoman-sktch9

 

TADA! One fancy staff-wielding swordswoman 😀

 

Leave a Reply

