Modern Day Signy – Emotion Study

So I’m vaguely considering doing an modern-day version of my Norse lesbians. It’s something that was suggested to me a long time ago, but I had decided not to since I really wanted to try  historical fiction. But the problem with historical fiction is it requires a lot more knowledge than I have of the time period, and it’s less helpful for the issues of lesbians in the real world, so I’m at least considering.

With that in mind, here’s a little something towards that project: Modern Day Signy doing emotion faces 😀

emotion-study

Of course, if I DO modernize my story, her name will not be Signy anymore. I was thinking Sylvia instead.

So what do you, my loyal blog readers, think of the idea? Would you rather see Medieval Norse lesbians, or have the story set in the present? Why? And what do you think would be a good update for Gisli’s name? (The modern story would be set in the US, probably in Michigan.)

More shinies will be coming later, kiddies. Keep an eye out 🙂

2 thoughts on “Modern Day Signy – Emotion Study

  1. Ah, I should have read this before I commented on your other post!
    I vote Medieval Norse! You have SCA friends to fact-check for you, run the script by them before you do any drawing, and you’ll be fine! Also, remember, there was an episode of Jem and the holograms where they went to modern-day Greece, and everyone was wearing togas. Not so much an example to follow, but hey, if you mess up a detail, it can’t be as bad as that.

    1. I like it too, but it does present some logistical problems… I’m still not totally sure if I’ll do the historical or the updated version (or both?) yet. I’ll have to do some more thinking about it.

Leave a Reply

