30 Day Monster Challenge: A Group of Monster Girls Together

This one goes out to all the Swing Dancers (and fans of awesome 90s cartoons :D) I couldn’t decide which background I liked better, a city-rooftop or an indoor dance-space, so I’m giving you both! ๐Ÿ˜€

It’s a hot summer night in Ann Arbor, and the Gargoyle Swing Club is having a dance party! They have to pay extra for the rental space to cover the cost of buffing the scratches those claws will leave out of the floor, but it’s worth it. Fortunately, there’s plenty of big windows to open, and the dance party spills over onto the roof of a nearby building after the rental is up. Ah, those summer nights… (oh-well-oh-well-a tell me more, tell me more- sorry…. forgot where I was going with this :p)

Ok, so not all of these are girls, I know. But there ARE multiple girls, so it totally counts.

#28: A Group of Monster Girls Together (click to en-big-en as usual)

**UPDATE** I realized that the full-size version was a bit small to see some of the detail, so I re-uploaded it with a larger version. Should be a little clearer now ๐Ÿ™‚

30-day_Group-1

30-day_Group-2

Why yes that handsome young gargoyle gent on the left IS wearing a KissME shirt! How astute of you to see that! ๐Ÿ˜€ (Because dancing is awesome and I like my latest design, so there :p)

Gargoyle dance etiquette requires that one be aware of their wings at all times and avoid smacking into other dancers or tangling up in each-other’s wings. Many choose to fold them in for dancing – especially novice dancers – but since this can restrict your arms, many just learn how to manage them while dancing and wing-based collisions amongst experienced dancers are rare.

If any of you browse theย NPR site, you’ll probably recognize the inspiration for this picture. The basis for the placement and rough posing of the dancers comes from this here photograph: http://www.michiganradio.org/post/watch-grand-rapids-swing-dance-group-smash-world-record (photo#3 if the zoomed in version doesn’t appear) I didn’t use all the dancers since some are just sort of standing there talking, or are too distant or blurry to see their pose clearly, but I tried to choose a reasonable sprinkling of people. Also, I didn’t copy any of the traits of the people in the photo into the drawing (at least not on purpose) and tried to make my little group diverse in color, shape, size, and clothing. These are college-town gargoyles, so there’s ‘goyles here from all parts of the world. They really ought to be diverse ๐Ÿ™‚ I just used the body-placements then put the photo away and created new people over the loose body-position sketches. Still – credit where it’s due ๐Ÿ™‚

Also, obviously, it’s night-time because they’d be stone during the day. Like zis:

30-day_Group-stone

This took so unreasonably long O.o I begin to remember why I rarely do group-shots….

Monster Girl and sig other is up next ๐Ÿ˜€ Stay tuned.

Leave a Reply

