30 Day Monster Challenge: Feline Girl

Man oh man, do I love Cirque du Soleil. I love it so very very much. The performers are amazing and ridiculously capable, the costumes, sets, makeup, lighting, the music… oh man, I could watch them for days at a time and never get bored. Everything about them is awesome and mind-blowing.

SO, when I tried to think of something cool for a feline person (cats ARE nature’s little acrobats/ninjas/comic relief) and the thought of melding them came into my head, I could not resist the temptation.

#22: Feline Girl

30-day_Feline-bodylines-cleared

Her costume is meant to be somewhat bird-like and is inspired by a mix of designs and styles I’ve seen done on real Cirque costumes. It’s not as well designed as most of their costumes because holy-crap-tatoes do they have some amazing costume designers, but I did my best to at least get the right feel for her outfit.

Her pose is based on the poster for Cirque du Soleil “Zarkana” which features a rather muscley acrobat doing this same flip/pose/whatever it is they’re doing here. In my version, she’s doing her routine while twirling the ribbon on her tail into fun shapes and swirls.

I also tried a new approach with this image and used the linework as guide-line and just put in blocks of color with little snippets of lines here and there to differentiate things a little. It’s time consuming, but I like it. Probably won’t use it a lot, but it’s nice to have another trick up my sleeve that I can use if I want to.

If you’re not already familiar with Cirque, look them up. Seriously, watch all of their stuff you can get your sweaty little mitts on. You will be amazed.

****

Yokai will be next, probably on Monday. Enjoy kiddies 😀

Leave a Reply

